A Prelude to Reflection

Each day, in various ways, I think about my upcoming years within my twilight. At first, the thoughts are not overwhelming, but as they age they lead me from generalized thinking to a defined concern. I collect the concerns, after their fruition, file them away and then retrieve them for conscious exploration. Undeveloped concerns remain floating in the periphery of my consciousness until I decide to explore it or they never choose them. Possibly the ones that I never explore are the most difficult and so I avoid addressing those issues. In addition, a worry may be difficult to explore because the information is at the time of occurrence, although some worries are innocently prefabricated with out anything proven.

Regardless of what type of concern, the seeds are in my head buried in numerous ways. Sometime within my second year of college, during the time that I was taking many anthropology and art history courses I developed an uncanny picture of a group of people that had lived during the 15th and 16th century. Most of the group lived as artists, whose work kept their memory alive in the future. There were others in the picture that did not have any recognized voice in the future. I became very tense. I sat down on the ground without moving, nor speaking, because I couldn’t stop thinking about those “unknowns” in the picture. Who were they and what did they do? Without knowing those answers they were like empty, shells arranged within the picture plane and were used for color, texture or balance as any other prop might be.

It is then that I realized the limitations of remembering. Your accomplishments and your work becomes the catalyst for a memory of you by future generations. However, if you are unable to produce something so remarkable, then the people that knew you while you were living can only recognize your personal accomplishments. Possibly those memories, especially in families, can be handed down to each generation, but eventually that link will broken and suddenly you can become just another marker in a vast field of markers for mankind

My thinking opened a magnanimous perplexity for me in justifying a life form; particularly mine when I asked, “Is living without eternal recognition sufficient enough reason to be here?” With a raised eyebrow I realized the enormity of my question and decided that it was best left alone in its entirety, but another thought tumbled forth and it required me to reflect upon my life and fill any gaping holes or quiet any inconsistencies. Through careful examination of all actions and decisions in my life, I could be able to tell if I had affected anyone even if they didn’t know me. It seemed correct to state that if someone knew of me and didn’t know me then it would be quite possible for a future person to know something about me.

All of this began to feel ostentatious. Once again, I slumped to the floor feeling a little overwhelmed and knew I needed to return to a logical and thorough reflection of my life to guide me in the future. Instinctively, I knew that this was the appropriate time to look at my life–a time before being within Crepusculum,

a time to begin reflection.

4 comments on “A Prelude to Reflection

  1. Frank
    I hope that you are taking care of yourself as you instruct me to do the same…just wanted to say thank you for all of your encouragement on my blog and to tell you that you and your mother are in my thoughts this morning and my prayers….

    Like

  2. Frank says:

    I try–but sometimes I feel like I am on a losing battle with myself. That’s when the little, inner kid inside me is kicking and screaming about life being so unfair that I end up giving in to him!! Nonetheless, its a struggle for me to taking care. But, I am learning…….2 days ago I abruptly made myself stop, look around and slowdown. It has held so far!!
    F

    Like

  3. croneandbearit says:

    Hi Frank – I just stopped in to say hi and let you know I’m thinking about you and hoping you and your mom are doing okay. Take care, sweetie. Hugs, Linda

    Like

  4. Frank
    I just wanted to say that you are on my mind. I am hoping that things are going better for your mom and that you are doing better at taking care of yourself….asking God for a blessing to come your way….
    Shadowlands

    Like

Leave a Reply

