Patience and Acceptance–A Necessary Formula

The past few days, most likely because of forty-five minutes working in the garden, my side and a line following my breast bone returned to its former paining annoyance, as well as, having my sinus’ flare up at the same time.  My ice pack has again become my close friend .  If I do a little too much the annoying pain drops my energy down and then my sinus’ make sure I trundle off to bed for a nap.  Today, I napped more than the time I have been productive.

Unfortunately, I am not able to finish the lined drapes I am making for someone.  I thought for sure that the project’s end would be one day before the weekend.  Now I hope that I can finish them by the beginning of next week.

Life doesn’t always go the way you want.  My brother-in-law is staying with us for the next ten days.  He no longer wants to live in the assisted living residence he is in.  Unfortunately,  he has Alzheimer’s.   During most of his days he is cherry.  Some days are better and some days confusion is paramount, but he keeps going, looking forward to another hour, or day that will be good to him and filled with the things he can enjoy.  Fortunately, he is well off and home, care now and in the future isn’t a problem.

My condition concerned him today.  While I was in the den he came to chat.  There are days chatting is hard, but today it was good for him and me.  While chatting he simply said to me that he feels one day I will be fine.  He also is quite aware of my monumental weight gain and once again spoke about understanding that to return to what I was will happen, that he, his family and M support me and their only worry is that I want it too fast to happen.  He has known me for forty years and has always been consistent with me, so when he  talked to me I realized that even through the mind of Alzcheimer’s it was important to him to show care and support for me.

Even though I am kind and helpful to him and available if he needs to talk or ask me to do something when he calls, it never occurred to me that regardless of his condition, the confusion in his memory and through the  daily degeneration he experiences, he still has compassion and concern for me and others.  More importantly, he has one of the most debilitating diseases we humans can get, yet he enjoys life and is patient  and accepting of his uncontrollable transformation.

A good example for me and other to see that we have much less to deal with in their lives than he does.

Patience and acceptance are most important in dealing with those pebbles we stumble over or the mountains that may erupt in front of us!  Adjusting ourselves to be patient and accepting is what I need to work on!!

2 comments on “Patience and Acceptance–A Necessary Formula

  1. learningtolean says:

    I love your post, Frank. I hope you feel better soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

