Down-sizing: Oh No!!

The term “down-sizing” means a lot of thinking, doing, walking through memories and worst of all separating everything you own into two lists.  One list is the things you keep and the  rest are items you get rid of SOMEHOW!!

I have spent days sorting through everything.   All items you own are assigned to one of the lists; a crystal bowl, a napkin, a chair and even a drape are assessed..  My china, glass and crystal collection are special and to sort and decide was difficult. A future cupboard size determined many things and the total storage in the house is a major influence of  how much to take.  something else had more attachment to me.

A beautiful Limoges Fish set in my curio cabinet for many, many years.   I look at it and remember the day I bought it; a day in my life when I was in my 30’s and should never have bought such a pricy item.  At first my estate sales person said to sell it for a couple hundred dollars.  I snarled; I had no idea of its real worth, yet I knew it was an authentic set.  After searching the internet for the marks on the back of the plates and the paintings on the face of the plate led me to realize it dates between 1895 and 1905 simply because the white ware mark was only used by Laviolette during that time.  My plates have different designs on each plate and the platter.  This helped to prove it was authentic. I will place them on eBay where I hope to sell them at a price that they are worth.

After the estate sale my house is still strewn with furniture and boxes of glassware, little porcelain, kitchen ware and much more that I will give to a charity providing they are accepting donations, although in Florida even the resale shops have an abundance of items and may not want donations.

Yesterday, I was working in the garden and I opened every garden box to get the tools I needed.  I will repack it all next week but I don’t know if I will be too happy to do it again.

My advice to everyone is to think carefully about what you keep.  Follow the good rule that if you haven’t used something in five years get rid of it!!  In the last forty years we have not followed the rule and now I need to deal with it all!!

This will be our  last move.  I do not want to downsize again.  And one day if I must  go to some old age home I will let someone else get rid of everything for me!!

Leave a Reply

