The Farm Boy Ethic

Whenever we are in a discussion with guests about getting  things done M begins his tale about my work ethic which he labels the “Farm boy Work Ethic”.  He continues to explain that I never stop thinking that a chore must be done and then go and do it.  As compared to his “City Boy Work Ethic”, I am an uncomplaining work horse while he thinks nothing of sitting at his computer, stretching and starting a new game of cards!!  He can physically work, even at his “elderly” age when he decides a certain project can’t wait or be put off.

Saturday I opened the bedroom window that faces a large cemented area in front of the garage. Next I constructed a temporary shoot  go past the eves (to protect them)  and be used for items to travel down and fall into a big red wagon.  After the wagon fills up it needed emptying in a spot to go out to the road for garbage pick up.

The following day around 10:00 am I started carrying an enormous amount of “stuff” from a large storm room that included anything we hadn’t used in years.  The stuff should never have come here in the first place.  M never could let go of an electrical cord or a little piece from a computer plus a variety of other things.  By one o’clock in the afternoon I had made little progress.  This routine of carrying to the window, throwing a bag or box or other container down the shoot kept me busy the rest of the day.  By five pm I looked at a tower of lumber leaning against the wall.  If I didn’t get it out I knew it would need to wait for the next refuse pick up.  My trips with the heavy lumber, even though overextending my waning energy taxed my work ethic finally finished at seven thirty pm. After disassembling the shoot and closing the window I ran to the thermostat to turn on the air conditioner!!  The whole time I worked on Sunday I kept thinking that I pushed the farm boy’s work ethic  to the limit!!

Today, when I return to the storeroom to pick up and remove a huge myriad of empty boxes, break down shelving we want and to try to make the room look descent I hope my “farm boy” is with me and pushes me forward!!

3 comments on “The Farm Boy Ethic

  1. Tom says:

    Best of luck.. My spouse accuses me of keeping too many needless things as well.

    Like

  2. sherry miller says:

    It sounds to me like that “city boy” could use a good old country boy “thrashing”!  Just saying. S.

    Like

Leave a Reply

