To Wait

Simple Definition of wait
: to stay in a place until an expected event happens, until someone arrives, until it is your turn to do something, etc.
: to not do something until something else happens
: to stay in a state in which you expect or hope that something will happen soon

A simple little definition of a passage of time that we all have experienced, except occasionally it is exasperating and annoying.  Most likely there isn’t much you can do about it, possibly letting steam jet from your ears can decrease the pressure you feel, yet,  there are so many “waits” in your life I am not sure if the reason for waiting in each circumstance is appropriate or is it a something that can be changed and not excused.

The Waiting places:

  • The check out line in the grocery store.
  • Every lobby of every  doctor you know.
  • Every lobby of every dentist you have sat to experience the upcoming pain from the drill!
  • The trolley you lay on in an emergency where you hope for a room and don’t for a very long time.
  • The phone when you are speaking with someone and they ask to put you on hold.  You wonder, how long, will they ever return
  • The dinner guests are late, the fish is dead a second time and they don’t call.
  • The time it takes for a pill to start working and you want it sooner.
  • The mailbox remains empty when something should have been in it.
  • The beauty shop or hair salon.
  • The infamous Airports around the world.
  • Starbucks counter.
  • A restaurant for a table.
  • A restaurant for the food that has never been served.
  • The bar and the inattentive bartender at the far end.
  • Your funeral if many family members are far away and can’t come right away.

To go on is nonsense, since we all have similar experiences.  I remember in the good old days when you had to wait for a Doctor there were good, current magazines left out for you to read.  Now, either there are none, only a few you don’t like or stacks of weathered, old magazines that you wonder why they are even available.  I remember one ENT doctor I saw actually had hard covered books to thumb through.  It was certainly a treat.

Now as I wait in a lobby or most anywhere, as long as there is wi-fi I can use my mini iPad4.    I did this  while waiting for the doctor this morning.  As I waited in a crowded lobby I checked my mail, made a phone call, played 5 games of Bingo and two Slingo Games.  As I started another game I heard my name called.  It was my turn, and for a change  care was administered without delay.  Usually once you get into the inner sanctum the nurse takes your vitals and leaves.  The door clanks shut and its like being on hold on the phone waiting, waiting, waiting until–  But I have my iPad and I’ll make it!!

One comment on “To Wait

  1. sherry miller says:

    This reminds me of the iconic Seinfeld scene where Jerry’s father waits in the doctor’s exam room, dressed in black socks, white boxers and a hospital gown. He opens the door and roars down the hallway asking if there is anyone out there and what is he paying for? Me, I get claustrophobic and open the door. This always makes the nurses nervous as they think you might leave and run down the road with your backside exposed and the gown flapping in the breeze. The doctor mentioned something about privacy. I asked her, hers or mine? Then I told her the walls were cheap and uninsulated and I could hear everything she was saying next door anyway. That got me out of there in a hurry. Just an idea of what you might try next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

